10 Facts about Australia


Australia is as varied as it is huge and it's a common mistake to believe that on a worldwide scale Australia is a pretty small player and there isn't much that separates it apart from other countries.

  1. Australia is the smallest continent. This may seem unbelievable, but it is true. It is true not only concerning the physical size of the continent but also in terms of population. Australia has a small population compared to other countries. Australia has a total area of 7 668 090 square kilometers, which makes it the smallest continent in the world. The second smallest continent is South America, which covers an area of 17 982 000 square kilometers, while Antarctica covers an area of 14 596 842 square kilometers.
  2. Australia is the only country in the world that consists of a continent. The countries that comprise a continent are Australia, Greenland, Madagascar, Sri Lanka, and New Guinea. Interestingly enough, Australia is also the smallest country in the world.
  3. Kangaroos only exist in Australia. This may lead you to believe that kangaroos were created in Australia and nowhere else on Earth since kangaroos cannot survive any place other than Australia, as indicated by their anatomy. However, this is not true.
  4. The capital of Australia is Canberra, after Canberra was made the nation's capital in 1908. Before that, the capital was Sydney (1829-1908). Canberra became the country's new capital because it is situated on an important part of the Australian coast, which also happens to be a strategic location. The major economic centers and ports are located in that part of the country.
  5. For 26 years, from 1901 to 1927, Melbourne was the captial city of Australia. In 1901, the Parliament of Australia decided to establish a countrywide capital. In this regard, Melbourne was chosen as the new capital of the country. It was expected that the new capital would be not only convenient for parliamentarians but also a good location for diplomatic relations as well as good communications with other countries. The construction of the Albert Hall in Blackburn began on 12 February 1926, and it is considered to be one of the most significant cultural landmarks in Australia.
  6. Australia is home to biggest reef system on Earth. The Great Barrier Reef is composed of over 900 islands. It is estimated to be around 2,300 kilometers long and covers an area of 344,400 square miles. There are 1,500 types of coral found in the Great Barrier Reef, as well as 2 200 fish species. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  7. Tasmania is an island that is part of the continent of Australia. It is the only island state in Australia. In fact, Tasmania is also the smallest state by area.
  8. Fraser Island is Australia's largest sand island, and the largest sand island in the world. Fraser Island is located in Queensland, Australia, and is known as the Big Sand Island; it has an area of approximately 300 square kilometers. Fraser Island has wide white beaches which are fringed with pink and grey sand dunes, making it one of the most beautiful places in the country. Aboriginal people used to live on this island before European settlement began in 1836. The Great Sandy Strait, which separates Fraser Island from mainland Australia runs into Hervey Bay.
  9. About 90% of the Australian population lives on the coast. This is mostly due to the high cost of land in urban areas. In addition, the climate is generally cooler close to the coast. A large number of Australians live on the coast because they are employed in the fishing industry and tourism.
  10. Australia has the highest level of internet usage in the world, with 71% of households owning computers and homes having wireless internet access. There are more than 262 million internet users in Australia, which is equivalent to 98% of the adult population with access to at least one communications device such as a mobile phone or laptop.